Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Interested in a quality used C Box

Hello listmembers. I have been playing a two row G/C Hohner for a few years and have learned some Cajun tunes on it which sound dreadful. I am interested in buying a used LA handmade from a reliable source so I can play something with the proper sound and tuning. It was the sound of the Cajun accordion that got me interested in the accordion in the first place, but I ended up with what was locally available and it has served me well for learning a variety of styles ( mostly French and the French version of Irish music). I already have a Hohner so I am not keen on getting a 114. I would like to try something different.

The key of C is ideal for me because most of the tutorial materials are in that key. I also might be able to use it to teach my son to play. He is getting frustrated with his 7 button toy.

From reading this list off and on over the years I gather a quality used box can still be had for less than $1000, which is what would seem reasonable to me, but I also appreciate that they are getting harder to find. I did try to contact the woman with the Cajun Classic for sale a few weeks back but my emails bounced and she didn't pick up the phone when I called. I have emailed some builders/dealers and come up empty so far. Any other leads?

Thanks,

Stan from Canada

Re: Interested in a quality used C Box

contact me at above email. I may be selling a used Martin, Acadian or Falcon in C.

Glenn

Re: Re: Interested in a quality used C Box

Glenn will treat you right... You also could call some of the builders like Larry and Jay Miller or Jude Moreau etc and ask if they know of any used boxes. I think Glenn could give you the phone numbers.

Re: Re: Re: Interested in a quality used C Box