Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Trade a C for a Martin D?

I may have the chance to buy a Martin D at a fair price. Trouble is, as a beginner, my instructional Dirk Powell DVD is in C. I also sing mostly in C & G on my piano accordion. *(Nothing magical about that, they were the simplest keys for me to learn to play in)*

So if I get it, is anyone here interested in trading a C accordion for it? What kind do you have? Or maybe I should call Junior Martin about a trade-in?

Thanks, Jamey Hall

Re: Trade a C for a Martin D?

have junior re reed it from a d to c

Re: Re: Trade a C for a Martin D?

Wouldn't that be expensive, and tend to negate the savings over buying a new one?

Re: Re: Re: Trade a C for a Martin D?

It will cost between $425 to $500 to re-reed the accordion. (including the reeds)

DP

hi jamey

I have a Martin C, and intend to convert it to D. Alas i am located in europe, netherlands. Thanks to shipping and custom costs it won't be very worth while for a swap-trade deal, but if you're travelling to europe?? Mine is fairly new, mint condition, no rusty reeds (from former Texas owner; Louisiana quite ones often have rust traces on the reeds thanks to the clmate in some areas), and made with bocote wood.

But my sugestion is: don't convert yours to C; D is a very much used key, fiddler friendly and i use it a lot, especially if you like to play irish tunes. And for the conversion costs, maybe get another one in C. Ask around f.i on this forum. Or if you have some one to do a conversion job, we could swap the reeds only, if not, maybe i can buy your D reed set. Mail me privately then ?!? .....

regs, nout

Re: Trade a C for a Martin D?