Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Illinois creole?...Dennis Stroughmatt and L'Esprit Créole

Not sure what Illinois creole is. However here is some of that music by fiddle player Dennis Stroughmatt and L'Esprit Créole.

Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t0hBkRSScFc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTTntkVUxN0

WF

Re: Illinois creole?...Dennis Stroughmatt and L'Esprit Créole

I enjoyed it indeed WF.

Although I cannot judge whether it is real cajun/creole music or not ( I am not experienced on this subject), I think he is a very fine fiddle player.

Thanks for sharing,

Gus

Re: Re: Illinois creole?...Dennis Stroughmatt and L'Esprit Créole

It really has nothing to do with what is in Louisiana. As many know, what is known as La creole and cajun music is just a little of what came from the french blended with everything else that was in La. A music gumbo.

There were large french settlements many other places other than La, they just got absorbed quicker than La. Illinois is one, another is Missouri(see link #3, where there are still a few old french speakers in one little pocket, which is where Dennis first began studying the creole. By the way, creole is not just associated with La, it technically refers to any french in the new world, which includes all french settlements below canada I think, including Haiti and the Dominican Republic. Not sure why it never included Canada, but as far as I know, and that's not that far, it doesnt.

Re: Re: Re: Illinois creole?...Dennis Stroughmatt and L'Esprit Créole