Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Cajun accordion cases?

Any recommendations? I've got an accordion on the way (more on that later - I don't want to jinx it), but it doesn't come with a case. I talked to Marc Savoy, and he has hard cases for $100 (I think) and $75 for a soft case. With piano accordions I much prefer soft cases, since they make the package much lighter, but with a Cajun accordion I'm not sure, they're already so light. So which do y'all recommend? What brand and what source for your recommendation?

Thanks, Jamey

Re: Cajun accordion cases?

I've been using a Peavey gig bag for a couple years, and am happy with it. Perfect fit for the accordion, lots of pockets, and a shoulder strap. Seems to be padded pretty good, have used it a lot with no damage - and no doubt it's been in harms way. here's Peavey's link:
http://www.peavey.com/products/browse.cfm/action/detail/cat/131/item/94831/number/00479840/PV%28R%292KBAG.cfm
If I remember right, a couple builders offered these for sale, but you can get them through the thrash, slash, and mosh places like Sam Ash, Musician's Friend, etc.
Now, if anybody knows of any cases that holds TWO accordions, I'm all ears!
Steve

Re: Re: Cajun accordion cases?

I own 4 flight cases built by Larry Miller. I couldn't imagine not having them. Wish he was still making them. Maybe he still does? Maybe he's got Jay making them? Maybe he didn't make them at all and he did a third party deal?

I saw Rosie Ledet's accordion case -- totally custom. 4-stop one side and then her Dino on the other side. Double-header... sure was sweet. Just like Rosie!

R!CK

Hey Steve, I couldn't get that link to load. Do you have another address I could check out that bag? I went to Sam Ash and couldn't find it.

Thanks, jamey