Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
How Much Should Accordion Lessons Cost?

This is a good question. Many people would say $20 dollars an hour, some would say $25 dollars an hour. Some more or some less. Some would say "well it all depends on who it is and if I know the person". When really the instructor should ask themselves what am I teaching this person for? Is it to make a living? Is it to put food on the table? or Is it to preserve a heritage that is slowly dying <-- This would me my answer.

I have been playing the accordion for about 6 years now (on and off). Starting out I had a little guidance from John Dale Hebert and Kaleb Trahan, but for the most part some from Larry Millers Book version. I purchased Dirk Powells first video, then the second, then Steve Rileys first and second, then Wilson Savoys, and have pretty much taught myself all that I know. I once signed up for lessons from a locan accordionists but when I found out the price I quickly dropped the classes.

Throughout my learnings it seemed like each time I would learn a new song I wanted to teach it to someone else, just so that they would not have to go and pay high prices for lessons somewhere. Now as I have progressed with my accordion playing I am trying to give to others what I wasn't able to recieve "FREE LESSONS". I am doing this through YouTUBE. Since I have become a frequent YouTuber I have learned more music than any where else. With all the talent that is here in this forum, it would be amazing the musicians that could be made if each one of you uploaded one accordion lesson. This is my challenge to you. Upload a video and help all of the struggling accordion players rise to become better musicians.