Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Getting tired of this...

Ok, I posted a few months back about a broken reed (second time it happened in as many years) and it happened again. WTF? Is this just normal for a cajun accordion? I've played a German diatonic accordion for almost 15 years and never had a reed break on me. Plus it happened while I was on stage in the middle of a song. I could see people wincing. It wasn't fun. Luckily it was the high reed bank so I could shut that off without sounding too horrible. I cracked it open and I don't see what's wrong. the reed still looks like its fine, but on the push it won't sound and on the pull its about a half step to a whole step lower than it was when I started playing that day.

Anyone out there who fixes and tunes these monsters got any idea what the problems sounds like and what I can do to keep from breaking more of these? I got myself pretty hot in the monitors so I don't play too hard. Should I just break down and get a back up box? I love my Acadian and Marc Savoy has been real nice to keep fixing his box, but the shipping is getting pretty **** expensive.

Re: Getting tired of this...

I personally feel, and after repairing and tuning LA built one-rows for the last couple of years, that about 80 to 90% of the diatonic accordion players have a "lousy" bellows technique, and use far too much left hand pressure. Maybe especially on One row Cajun accordions, "The Louder The Better philosophy", and thereby being rewarded with the usual problems as found in getting their instrument out of tune, and indeed breaking reeds. Marc Savoy seemed to have suggested towards beginners to practice first with one bellows strap closed (probably the front one?).