Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: called keith frank for 'sweet pea'

Thanks for the details, Ganey! You could teach a class!

I would love to look at the actual copyright registration form for Viens me Chercher and see if it was registered as a derivative work and whether Tante Aline by Amédé Ardoin & Denus McGee was named as a source for the melody. If not, you would think it could be ruled a frivolous, bogus registration and invalid, at least for the underlying music and lyrics if not the recording, but I'm not a lawyer.

Re: paying royalties

I have been in a couple of different bands (not my own band) where recordings were made and no royalties were paid. And I know plenty of others who have done that as well.

Since I was only a side man on those projects, I don't know if any thought was ever given about doing things the "right" way or not.

However, the reason for the recordings was to serve primarily for promotional purposes, not as a way of making money. I doubt that the break even point was reached. (not a valid excuse, I know, but I'm just sayin')

I am not saying it is right and/or legal. But it seems to be very common for homespun recordings of this nature to fly under the radar on this issue. I guess everyone is hoping that it won't develop into a problem later on. I have certainly never heard of anyone being called out for it.

I have been thinking about making a CD of my own lately, and this issue has been at the back of my mind. I had no idea the cost was that high. So, if I have a CD with 10 copyrighted songs, it's going to add nearly $1000 to the cost of the project? Ouch! That is not in the budget. No wonder people cheat.