Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: 3 Tabs for Students

Ned for most on here tabs are a very bad word. For me tabs are how I play. I had to laugh at your marrige remark I too am in that boat. I play when the wife is out, or if we are having a dispute I then pull out the box just to get on her nerves. I find nothing wrong with learning to play with tabs. I am going to check out your page and give them a try.

Yeah, real men don't do tabs, but I had 60 downloads on the first one I put up. 13 of those were from foreign countries. Over half were from Acadiana.

There are a bunch of closet tabsters out there, Randy!

As a beginner, I find that I learn more quickly if I dissect the song and put it back together. The "ca ca fait du mal" part of Bosco bedeviled me until I got it on paper. But, Cajun music is free form, anyway - do whatcha wanna.

Besides, if I was trying to be a REAL Cajun, I'd be Nedreaux.

Remember that Bosco Stomp is one of the hardest pieces to learn!! It gave me a hard time, and I'm still not satisfied with the way I do it.
It's full of syncopations (notes that fall between the beats) and other rythmic peculiarities!
If you are a beginner, I would advise you to pick a simpler piece of the Cajun puzzle.
Like Johnny can't Dance for a twostep (great example by Dirk Powell) and Lovebridge waltz (great online lesson by Chris Miller) for a waltz.

Nothing wrong with the type of tabs you showed, because the music notation that goes with it indicates the timing. But I see mainly single notes. To make it sound "Cajun", you'll need to play octaves and blends (double notes) as well. And to play in time of course!

Nedreaux,

will YOU be at Wurstfest in New Braunfels?