Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
OT: Strad vs modern violin

Fairly off topic, but some interest to fiddle players and other music lovers...

Can you tell the difference between modern violin and an original Strad? Turns out, the pros can't either.

WF

Re: OT: Strad vs modern violin

IMHO the modern violin has more overtones (more "high") and more power than the revered Stradivarius.
So at first I picked the wrong one to be the Strad.
That proves that either I am deaf (which is partly true) or that I am not an expert (which is true), or that there's a lot of bull going around about exquise violins (which I think is true). A lot of suggestion and snobism, like with expensive wine.
I don't know what "good sound" is, anyway. It's also a matter of taste. I'd rather hear good music on a bad instrument than bad music on a good instrument!!

I think there is a difference in instruments.It doesn't have to be a Strad,but there are violins that are magical in the right hands.I have heard them and played some.I think this is true of accordions and guitars also.not all strads are the same,the test would have to be done with a known strad.I have been told by players that some strads sound bad,and others are fabulous

Of course there is a huge difference. And even if there wasn't, you could still make them sound different by, for instance, adjusting the soundpost.
But didn't you think that the 1980 sounded better than the Strad in this test?
I just borrowed a book about Stradivari in the library. Very interesting. He has built an awful lot of instruments during his long life: not only violins, but also altos and cellos. He kept on experimenting, so they differ a lot in sound, model and color (the famous Strad varnish).