Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Keith Frank Accordion

This might be a shot in the dark but could anyone help me in determining what key is Keith Frank's green 10 button accordion??? I love the sound of it and it is so distinctive from everyone else. I am not good at figuring out keys.
Also does he possibly play some of his older stuff on a single row C# and if not what exactly is it ??? Its almost as if he has a different accordion on every CD. So many different sounds but all so great!
Thanks!!

Re: Keith Frank Accordion

C#minor is played on an A box. This is like playing the "Do it All Night (Beau Jocque) riff on a D accordion (F#minor), on a C (Eminor), On a Bb (Dminor). does that make sense?

To answer your initial question, I remember this question being answered on this forum in the past. I'm guessing that green box is B natural but it is only a guess. You could email Keith and ask him. I'm sure he would be only too glad to answer any question you have.

Thanks!!....Unfortunately what you mentioned at first doesn't make to much sense to me because i have only been playing music (accordion) for about two years and strictly by ear. I can play but just don't know to much about chords or keys and such.

As for the green box, when trying to match his sound, my Bb sounds a bit low and my C sounds a bit high so B natural makes sense being that it is in the middle right?

When i mentioned a C# box, thats because some of his stuff sounds a bit higher than a C box but doesn't sound as high as a D. Idk

Besides all that im sure the internal mic and way he sets up the board makes a difference too.