Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Great new zydeco accordion instruction web site.

Hey, check it out at link #1. There's a great new zydeco accordion instruction site. My buddy Greg Benusa has put together a very good web site. He's lurks here on Bravenet, but I don't think he posts very often.

Greg noticed that all the instruction material out there is all Cajun, and little or now Zydeco, so he took it into his own hands (literally) to correct that.

I have been playing Zydeco for many years, but I picked up a few new tricks. Particularly the breakdowns. I never really got my head around those very well before.

So, check it out, and say Dave sent you - I get a kick back (just kidding).

Re: Great new zydeco accordion instruction web site.

The weblink took me to $19.95 for one tune at three speeds plus tab. You should be getting a kickback.

No - no kickbacks.

As to the cost, if you think it is too much, go find it elsewhere at a better price. Trouble is, it ain't there.

I suppose it comes down to the value to the buyer, and whether there is any competition.

In my case, everything I have learned, I did it all on my own, with a huge investment of time and effort. I had to do it that way because there was nobody around who could show me how, at any price.

If I could have paid an instructor $20 to show me some of those things that took me days to figure out on my own, it would have totally been worth it.

As the man says YMMV.

Hey David,
Thanks for posting the link. I was checking out the breakdown and it just came to me that I have not really used breakdowns in some time. They aren't really that hard and it's really a good exercise to loosen up and work on groove.
Kirk Jones