Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
A different sticking flapper repair story ..

Braves,

FWIW .. here’s an account of my accordion ”repair” this morning.
Comments are encouraged since I’ve never done this before ..

My #9 key was sticking and was sluggish to return to closed position.
Just enough to be good and annoying!

I thought that either the wood at the base of the flapper assembly was binding,
or that the flapper assembly wasn’t moving freely upon its fulcrum.

I removed the keyboard assembly by opening the box, and removing the two long Philips screws
that hold the keyboard to the front of the accordion.

Then, I removed the small cover at the bottom of the keyboard that covers the end of the fulcrum rod.

Whoever had last assembled the accordion had stripped the head of the Phillip’s screw.
(This always annoys me when someone does this.) My experience has been
“Start with a Philips screw driver that appears to be too big first! If that doesn’t fit,
try the next size smaller.”

I suspect many a Philips screw head has been stripped by using an improper sized tool
usually, a tool that's too small.
These screws seem to be a Philips #1 size.

I removed one screw entirely, and the other just partially,
as this allowed me to swing open the cover to access the fulcrum rod.

I carefully gripped the end of the rod with pliers and twisted and pulled repeatedly
until the rod came out. Not an easy task! I was careful to only grip the fulcrum rod
at the very end as to not leave pliers marks in any other location on the rod.
That could bind the flapper’s action.

It was easy to determine that the flapper assembly was not binding on the surrounding wood.
The culprit was the fulcrum rod.

Being very careful as to not bend the removed rod, I smoothed the rod's surface with