Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
want to learn.

Hi all. Just found this website. I think it's quite interesting. Well I am new to this. I badly want to learn accordion. I have been playing guitar for several years. I've been addicted to the accordion since I heard Jesé lege play when I was a kid. I researched and researched. I don't really know where to start. Any information or direction would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to email me Chauvin.corey@yhoo.com. Thanks all. Keep the music coming!

Re: want to learn.

Welcome Corey.
Read what Steve B wrote about his start with the Cajun Accordion.
And you're not the first one with this question, so there's a lot of information on this forum.
To start you have to buy an Accordion and the Dvd's from Big Nick or Dirk Powell are very good to start with.
I don't know whre you're from, but a teacher would be fine too.
Teachers are not easily find outside Louisiana :-:
Good luck with it.

Thanks for your reply. I am from Maurice la. Yes I have found those DVDs. They seem great. I am looking around for a box now. And letting go of a few guitars. To soften the blow for my wife haha.

It's a bit strange that I write to somebody who's living in the middle of Cajun Country. You're so close to all that fantastic jams/festivals/builders where you can find all the information you need.
Again good luck and keep us informed please.

Your not here in Louisiana?

Chauvin
Your not here in Louisiana?

Hi Corey,
we are a lot of foreigners in love with Cajun music and culture .

I have too many guitars myself ,
You'll find that some musical instrumental background is always very usefull
the only thing to keep in mind is that in opposite to Guitarland,
in Accordionland a push-pull is not a tube amplifier