Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Left handed accordion.

I have heard that left handed accordions have been made. Not sure which builder it was.

I also know of left handed players who play a right handed accordion upside down. Rockin' Dopsie Sr. comes to mind.

Of the two options, I think the best is to get someone to build you a lefty.

Corey,

I felt like I was wrong-handed when I started playing the right-handed accordion as a right-hander. A number of successful golfers are left-handed but play with right-hand clubs.

It's awkward at the get-go, so you might be able to develop a dexterity in the left hand that will surprise you.

I'd bet the good players out there aren't ALL right-handed.

When all else fails, invert the box per Dopsie. Function before form.

Nedro

Link #2 shows you a left handed accordion.
Link#3 also shows you a left handed player at the Liberty Theater.
If it's possible you can get in touch with one of them to try a left handed one.

Goodluck with it :-)

I have a Martin left handed accordion that I would sell.
It is a stained curly maple and is in excellent condition,

I only know of one person who plays a Cajun style accordion, upside down. Guyland Leday is left-handed and plays it both ways. Ray Landry is left handed and plays a left handed guitar and accordion. I am left-handed and play accordion, bass and guitar, right-handed. I have a friend who is the same way. I was told early on that playing the accordion was no different than playing piano. There are no left-handed pianos. You train each hand to do what it needs to do. Now, admittedly, I am ambidextrous in many ways, but playing an instrument is not one.

Hi all

Just ran across this