Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Beginning accordian

I'm brand new at the accordian. Bought a cheaper chinese make for $429.00 in Crowley and am using their beginner book. Shall I try and coordinate just the bass and chord buttons without a treble to practice, waltz, BCC or two step BC-BC-BC as I cannot do the treble side and this at the same time.

Working on learning the scale on a C accordian. Is it a good idea to also learn how to push 2 octaves apart, like 3 and 6 for a C or pull 2 and 6 for a B.........or just go down the scale saying C, D, E, F, G, A while trying to push and pull single as well as octaves.

I am using You can play Cajun Accordian where they tell you to only use the index finger on 2-5, then 2nd finger for 6 and third for #7 and little finger for 8-10.

It looks like some more advanced players or lessons show folks holding down up to 3 or possibly 4 buttons at a time? So confused about it.

Am trying to do octaves while saying the notes or chords, like: C, D, E, F, G , etc. to get a sense of where these are located in reference to pushing an pulling.

Any ideas welcome, just working on Mary had a little Lamb and J'ai Passe devant ta porte.

Thanks!

Re: Beginning accordian

well first, welcome to the accordion site.i would suggest Big Nick's DVD's for a start.use them to get yourself an understanding of how this box works and a foundation for playing.he covers most all of your questions as you gain the knowledge. good luck , don't get frustrated (sometimes hard) and keep playing.

I agree with C.J. 1000% Big Nick has 3 dvd's for lessons.. Beginner to Advanced and you really want to get the DVD 1.. Its for beginners learning Cajun style of playing. I have and used it and very good.. He really goes to length to explain whats going on..

WillyWog