Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Air Leak - Is this typical ?

Having no mentor in my vicinity I'm new to this.

Question regarding my economical Hohner 10 button accordion. Is it typical to have a small air leak in it or should it be pretty much sealed tight? I can squeeze with no keys pressed and there is a leak along the left hand side between the bellows frame and the bass frame. Perhaps in taking it apart to repair the bass button, the original seal was lost? It appears to just be a simple press seal between wood on bass side and a felt on the bellows side. There are 4 screws that hold the two pieces together. Do better instruments have more? Or is there a better method of making a seal? bathroom caulk ?
haha ~~~ Suggestions - TIA.

I got it used, and someone had repaired the C2 bass button with an external spring, this made pressing it with little finger very difficult. I opened it up and found the spring had somehow come loose. I repaired it and a bit of hot glue to keep from slipping again. Works much better now. But had to remove the bass frame end and bass box to repair.

Dennis

Re: Air Leak - Is this typical ?

Suggestion

Never press or pull the bellows without pushing a button any button.

If you have an ariette..'they don't call them Airy ette for nothing.

Most accordions leak somewhere..

depends on how much and where to be any serious concern.

Dennis,

I've had a similar experience with a Hohner Ariette.

Some minor leakage is normal, but a big air leak is not good. If you have determined the joint is accessible, i.e. two frames butting together, replace the damaged or missing gasket with weatherstripping-type foam tape. That seal is rather small, probably 1/4" wide x 1/16" thick. Tub caulk would make the next disconnect difficult and messy.