Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Cajun Accordian

It has been some time since I have been in the forum, the last time in was asking about the kinds of accordians etc as I have still not purchased one, but will in the near future, but I do keep reading about them. I just read somewhere not sure where that the cajun accourdians were going toward making them b flat and not C ...Just wondering if there was anything to that...Which is better of the two...I am just a beginner understand and which one is the used the most and as a beginner which one would purchase. As I am sure I want to have it a long time when I do purchase one...
Thanks
Sid

Re: Cajun Accordian

C accordions are most used by beginners since most all the beginning dvd's and instruction material is in C

Re: Re: Cajun Accordian

Will it be any need to purchase a b flat in the future or can I stick with the C...Just wondering. Do most band used the b flat...just wondering...I know it sounds like a stupid question...But understand I am just a beginner asking question to learn..
Sid

Re: Re: Re: Cajun Accordian

Gigging bands may have 2 or 3 boxes, but C is best to start, for the instruction material and if you go to workshops or jams.

Worth remembering though, that fidlers usually tune down to play with a C box, so , if you think you might play regularly with fidlers in other genres, they may not want to tune down, so D would be a better key.

It just gets worse, Sid, don't it?

BJ

I have to say without a shadow of a doubt to go with a "C" box. "C" boxs are the standard at jam sessions, instructional classes and videos. Nodoubt about it, you want to start off with a "C" box.

Is it possible to chage the C accordian to a b flat one..or get it modified..and not purchase a new one...
Thanks
Sid