Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
what key?

what key is "Les Haricots Sont Pas Sale" played in generally? And, does anyone know the lyrics for the Balfa/Abshire version?
thanks

Re: what key?

I'm not sure of the original key -- I'm not an expert when it comes to piano accordions. I like to play it in G on the Cajun box. The only lyrics I know, I learned from the late Warren Ceasar, and are in a call and response structure such as this:

Hey mama (hey mama)
Hey mama (hey mama)
Zydeco so' pas sale (zydeco so' pas sale)
C'est le hippy-ti-yo (hippy-ti-yo)
C'est le hippy-ti-yo (hippy-ti-yo)

Original recording by Clifton was in the key of...

Hey Rick...

Thanks for the email and kind words in your post.

The original recording that Clifton did was also in the key of G. Aldus Roger was the next person to record that song as far as I know. His version is DEFINITELY based on Clifton's version...he plays it about as close as you can get it to Clifton on a Cajun box. Of course his backup sounds completely different but the actual notes he plays are remarkably similar to Clifton.

Aldus does about 6 different parts just like the Clifton version. Most people I hear today usually play something like "Les flemmes d'enfer" and then do the other part where you hold out the G7 chord. Steve Riley put a version out kind of like that; but many of the juicy original licks are not there. For anyone interested in that tune I recommend listening to Clifton and Aldus FIRST before any of the other version...then make Your Own Version.