Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
I Need Info On Building A Cajun Accordion

Hello, good people!

My name is John Jeansonne. I'm originally from the Avoyelles parish area of Louisiana. I now reside in Nashville, TN where I play the fiddle for a country band called Rascal Flatts. I grew up playing mainly the fiddle, but also the Cajun accordion. When I was 14(in 1985) I proudly won the Louisiana fiddling champion title. I also won it ten years later in 1995. I do not particularly like talking about myself , but I mention the above things so that others will know I am a serious musician.

Regardless of the fact that I now live away from Louisiana, and play fiddle in a country-pop band, I still continue to practice the Cajun language and music with my children.

My newest endeavor to help to preserve my Acadian heritage is to build a Cajun accordion for my children. And although the subject of "Cajun Accordion Building" has already been posted at this forum, I thought I would renew it. I know nothing at all about building one of these accordions, but I certainly want to learn. Since I own three Cajun accordions (an Acadian, a Bon Tee, and a Sidney), I do know it's parts. However, I don't know how to get these parts. For example, I know that Binci reeds are commonly used by the Louisiana makers, but I do not know how to go about buying them from Binci. The same goes for bellows. I have no idea where to buy them.

As far as the overall process of Cajun accordion building goes, I 've looked for all sorts of information: books, DVD's, building plans, web sites, etc. Sadly, I can find nothing on this subject.

Any direction that one could give me would be so greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time in reading this.

John Jeansonne

Re: I Need Info On Building A Cajun Accordion