Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Value of Augusta

After looking at all the posts, I'm trying to figure out if Augusta would be worth it. Since I'm essentially a beginner accordion player, I would be 4 levels removed from Steve Riley's class and, from what you guys said, he may be the best teacher there. I'm interested in fiddle too. Can I go to fiddle and accordion class? How would that work?

Re: Value of Augusta

I only went once (1999) when I was somewhere beyond absolute beginner and somewhat less than competent:
the experience was well worth it from the perspective of someone who rarely has the chance to be in direct contact with other persons playing Cajun music.

The beginner level instructors (John Vidrine and Charlie Terr) have good reputations (although I've never taken a lesson from either one).

Some of the commentary here lately has been about whether it was worth going for yet another year. Once you've got some basic ideas of fingering and rhythm, you can teach yourself a lot from slowed-down recordings and DVD's. But a week at Augusta will get some momentum in your learning process, and give you some ideas about how to connect up what you hear with what your fingers could be doing.

I'm thinking of going this year, but I haven't told "the boss" yet!
S'b'B

Hey Shannon,
I know that Augusta offers mini-classes apart from your main class. These are usually held in the evening or late afternoon, they do cost extra. But I believe they offer a fiddle mini-classes, not for sure what level. They also offer other few mini-classes for example, steel guitar,French lyrics,dances etc etc. Check their website and see what they offer.
Later
Mark

Re: Re: Value of Augusta