Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Cajun Dancing

I am a beginner but my accordion playing is progressing quite rapidly due to a good cajun box. My goals are simple: to take my playing out of the bathroom and onto the back porch, and play well enough so my little granddaughter can dance. But, I feel I am missing half of the cajun spirt in my playing by not knowing how to dance. Can anyone suggest the best DVD to learn traditional cajun dancing?

Re: Cajun Dancing

A.E.

Not quite sure about Waltz or Two Step... but Mona Wilson has a vid out on Creole style Zydeco Dancing.
See www.zydecoqueen@crazygator.com

She usually can be found at dance/music camps teaching classes along with Chester Gremillion or Joely Bias.

Does dance make a better musician?

I never thought so (at one point), but all that thinking changed. I got tired of folks shaking guitar picks and fiddle bows at me like some sort of Zoro stand off thing. It was my timing that screwed the works up (and everyone else).

Naturally a leader stepped up and came to grips with the truth of the matter:

(them). Do you dance Dave?
(Me) Nah not much.
(them) Yeah well, we can tell. I think you outta start and soon!
(Me) What the heck's that suppose to meen?
(them) Man your timing stinks and your playing has everbody outa wack, you need to learn how to dance and get in the pocket.

I think it helps that I sorta started thinking more towards that dancing business as part of my timining issue thing. Of course, I was always very reluctant mind you, till I discovered enough red wine can give ya crazy legs and try about anything including this dancing business.... But, if ya go that route, ya gotta watch the next day thunder in the head

I have brutalized some nice women with my dancing.