Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
tuning questions

Looking at something David Sousa said in an earlier post brings up a question. Im VERY new to the accordion world and trying to learn. What is the difference between wet tuning and dry tuning? What is preferred and why? Also for someone thinking of getting his first accordion to learn on, what key would you suggest? thanks

Re: tuning questions

dry has little or no tremolo. favored by traditional Cajun players. Wet is fuller (almost flanged) with enharmonics closer to what a piano accordion sounds like. Zydeco players tend to prefer wet tuning. It seems to mix better with a modern electric band. You can get an accordion tuned somewhere in the middle. Many players do.
Accordion training material usually features C boxes.
That and your vocal range, if you sing, may be a factor when chosing your first accordion. If you decide to stick with accordion playing, you'll end up with more than one box and more than one key any way.
All the best.

Re: Re: tuning questions

I want to make one remark for the Cajun style.
The tuning have to be with no tremolo, but very dry.
Some reeds (on a c-accordeon the B and the E) need to be tuned a litlle bit lower than standard tuning.

Re: Re: Re: tuning questions

Further, on a c-accordion the F's are tuned sharper.

Re: Re: Re: Re: tuning questions

I have read about the F.
But also that some think that it doesn't have too.
On my accordeons(C and D) omly the B and the E are "out of tune", but it have to for Cajun.
On the D other notes are lower tuned, but the reeds under the same buttons.
Is it really necesserry to sharpen the F a little?
How much it have to be?
Does it change the sound very much?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: tuning questions