Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Cajun and Tex-Mex on a one row?

Glenn,

What you are saying sounds right to me. I have heard some Cajun accordion players play in a Tex-mex style, but it was always on a triple row. Danny Collet comes to mind, and also the guy from File (can't remember his name).

I am no expert on Tex-Mex, but I have messed around with it enough on my triple row to have doubts that it would work out very well on a single row. One reason is that the style is highly dependent on playing harmonized melodies (in thirds, sixths, or whatever). These harmonizations are physically impossible on a single row because the necessary notes are often not available on the push or pull simultaneously. There are other technical reasons as well.

-David

Yes, it is possible--thirds and sixths on a one-row, and a run

You can't get too fancy but many thirds and sixths are available. You can't do this kind of thing in many keys...A song in the key of C would work best on a C accordion...the push key, in other words. It requires a LOT of bellow reversals and is hard to do smoothly, but it is possible to pull off a few simple licks...the faster the tempo the more difficult it becomes because of the bellow changes...when I do this kind of thing on the Cajun accordion, I stop my bass and treble reeds and use only the two middle sets...I have them tuned about 10 cents wet...It can definitely remind you of the Tex Mex sound...

Available thirds
on the push:
1-2, 3-4, 4-5, 6-7, 7-8, 9-10

on the pull:
1-2, 2-3, 3-4, 4-5, 6-7, 7-8, 8-9

Available sixths
on the push
1-3, 2-4, 4-6, 5-7, 7-9, 8-10

on the pull
3-6, 4-7, 5-8, 7-10

Here is a possible "Tex-Mex" type run is parallel sixths 'is for pull
5-7, 4'-7', 4-6, 5-7, 4'-7', 4-6, 3'-5', 4'-7', 4-6