Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Remembering Kermit Venable

Hey Y'all,

I just got back from a vacation in Quebec and was saddened to see that Kermit Venable has passed.

When I was a student at Loyola University, New Orleans, I found that Cajun musicians with free time for accordion lessons were in short supply. Even Bruce Daigrepont, who leaved nearby, couldn't accommodate me.

I met Kermit at a horrible bar at the Jax Brewery mall. He was a bit grumpy and initially unwilling to even talk about accordions. Eventually, however, he realized that I was serious about learning to play. He was also impressed that I was conversant in French.

During the next few months, I became somewhat of a fixture at his gigs at Michaul’s on St. Charles. I'd wait for his band to take a break and then I'd bother the poor man for a few lessons. His teaching style didn't stray too far from the Marc Savoy school of squeezebox instruction: Now look here. I'm gonna play real fast and you're gonna watch, completely befuddled.

I was floored by the vastness of his repertoire, and amazed at the power of his vocals. I was also more than a bit saddened to see such a great musician playing at a depressing Cajun restaurant for a bunch of half-zonked tourists eating overpriced, frozen seafood (ain't that the life of a Cajun musician?).

Naturally, he wasn't without his quirks. For instance, I never could get over his bizarre folk remedy for heartburn: fresh radish slices mixed into a pint of melted vanilla ice cream ("My ONE contribution to the medical field"). He gulped that sh*t down.