Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Advice for a complete newbie??

Hi folks, what a great forum you have here!

I am a (very) amateur musician, I play the piano, a little guitar, and I'm currently learning the alto sax (lots of fun!). I don't really know zydeco/cajun music, but when we visited NO (pre-katrina, thankfully), we were led to Tipitina's and I spent the whole time up by the stage listening and watching the band. I LOVED the sound, and I've been bitten by the bug to learn this accordion. (I used to own a very small piano accordion and I liked that instrument).

So, I'd like to know what type of instrument to buy. There are tons of $250 boxes on ebay, probably all Chinese-made. I would guess they are of inferior quality? What would be a good instrument to buy? I'd rather buy a decent instrument than a cheap one that won't sound as good or play as well.

I've noticed over the years of playing different instruments that the more expensive, professional instruments are much easier to play (and sound a whole lot better) than the cheap, "introductory" ones. Does this hold true with the Cajun Accordian?

Do I want a "C" accordian to be able to play more of the popular music? Or another key?

I see some with 1 row of 10 buttons, some with 2 or 3 or even 5 rows of buttons? Which one do I want?

I want to buy one good box now, not a "stepping stone" box that I'll soon "outgrow". I think! :-)

I've gathered from reading this forum there are some good DVD's out there, I'll buy some of those.

Finally, do any of you know any resources (people or stores, etc) here in the Los Angeles area that would
help in my endeavour?

thanks so much for any help/suggestions you can provide.

Dana

Re: Advice for a complete newbie??