Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Advice for a complete newbie??

Do NOT get a Chinese box! I am a newbie, purchased a Hohner Ariette in January of this year from Ebay $269. Big mistake and waste of money. Too hard to play, sounded awful, extremely poor quality. I purchased a slightly used Bon Cajun in June that I found through this site and have been happily playing every day since then. Even though I am only a living room 'musician' at this time, it was well worth the money. My advice, spend a little extra and get an LA or TX handmade(I have been paying attention), you will not regret it. And the best thing you have done is find this site. I thank all of you for the great information I get from reading your posts.

Re: Re: Advice for a complete newbie??

Wow, what a lot of great responses. Thanks to all of you!

I tend to agree with Carol. As I mentioned, I play other instruments, and I know that a cheap, poorly-made instruement is much more difficult to play than a quality piece, not to mention that quality also will sound a whole lot better. I think that maybe a lot of aspiring young musicians may be discouraged from continuing in their musical endeavor when they find out how difficult it is to learn one. Making it more difficult with a cheap instrument is not a good thing.

As said on here, I think a good box is a good "investment", both monetarily and musically.

I'll keep reading here, keep looking in the pawnshops and ebay, and keep my eyes open for a nice LA or TX box. Is there a particular website anyone recommends to go to and read up on specifically what to look for, how to recognize them, etc.