Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Bois sec's Eunice Two Step

Ok, lesson time for me. I have been playing what I thought is the Eunice Two step, but after seeing Bois Sec play his version, I realize it is different. My version is in the key of C (mostly buttons 3,4,and 5), whereas his is in key of G (from what i can guess, he is using buttons 5,6,and 7), if I am learning this key thing correctly. And his version and mine are excact opposites on the push and pull. Is this the way it should be when playing the same song in 2 different keys on the same accordion? Can you play them either way? I hope I am making sense, lacking any musical knowledge other than the tunes in my head before picking up this accordion, I am just learning this whole key thing.

Thanks for any attempts to clear my fog.

Re: Bois sec's Eunice Two Step

Bryan,

The version you're playing in key of C probably sounds close to the Bayou Teche Special, recorded on the Balfa Toujours CD "La Pointe." The turn is different in those two songs, but the tune is pretty close. I don't know any reason you couldn't play it in either key. I recently heard Jesse Lege play Chopique Two Step in F, instead of G. The different blends you can get in F really change up the song.

Russ

Re: Re: Bois sec's Eunice Two Step

IMHO the version of the Eunice Two Step by Maurice Barzas is the best.

Re: Bois sec's Eunice Two Step

The only version of The Eunice Two-Step that I have ever heard, is the version recorded by Iry. It's been re-recorded by many artist after that.
the song was played in the second position ( key of "G" on a "C" accordion). When someone names " The Eunice Two-Step", that's the song I relate it to.
Jude

Re: Re: Bois sec's Eunice Two Step