Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Button box insight

I am a experienced musician and I enjoy playing guitar, bass, keyboards, and vocals. I have really taken an interest in learning the accordion. I have purchased both a piano accordion and a C/F button box. I love to write and record music at home and have made a couple of rock CD's already.
The past 6 months I have been listening exclusively to zydeco and Cajun music. I am really enjoying the button box in particular but I have hit a "snag" in the road. It seems I can envision and write songs (5 so far) on the piano accordion but the button box seems limited to me. Is the button box an instrument that doesn't make sense on it's own? When I play the piano accordion with the full complement of bass notes it is easy to make melodies and songs that sound a lot different and when playing by myself it has a completeness to it. The button box on the other hand sounds neat and I can chump and chop along with strings of notes but it seems ambiguous. Do most button box players need a rhythm section to jam with to write music? What is the real role of the base side of a button box. I have 8 bass buttons 2 rows of 4. Do you button box players out there jam to CD's or maybe to prerecorded bass and drum rhythms? What do you do to write on the Button box? Any insight or tips would be appreciated. Thanks
Mark from Buffalo

Re: Button box insight

I've written about 3 songs on the button box. One of them came to me in a dream (a waltz), and the other two, both shuffles, came to me just from noodling. On a toy accordion at that. I thinking better lying down, and I just had the toy accordion on my chest, just playing around.