Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Ever heard of bagpipers in Louisiana French Music ?

The French have several different type of pipes (bagpipes if you prefer that term). I saw a film on Brittany last summer at Celtic week at Swannanoa workshops. The accordions in that film looked like our Cajun accordion but were those from France.

I have heard of a Louisiana group called Celjun that was some mix of Celtic and Cajun muisc, but have not heard them in person.

For what its worth, I've been playing pipes (highland and uilleann) for the last 30 years are so. I prefer to stay with the tradations of a particular culture. If it Cajun music, I prefer to play on the accordion, if its Irish music, I play the uilleann pipes. Maz is right about the highland pipes as most consider it Scottish. But it can be the highlands of anywhere, Scotland, Ireland or North/South Carolina.

With all that said, the "Danse de Mardi Gras" sounds great played on the uilleann pipes. Would that offen anyone? I would not attempt the Port Author Two Step on the pipes. Perhaps there are some cross over tunes,but I think you would have to be very selective.

Re: Re: Ever heard of bagpipers in Louisiana French Music ?

Thing is, there was a time when the accordion was looked at the same way, a foreign object not for cajun music. Luckily some kept it around anyway.

I'd like to hear someone play some samples just to see what it would sound like. I was pleasantly surprised the first time I heard the banjo playing cajun music.

One of my favorite sounds is Amazing Grace played on the pipes.

What's the difference between a trampoline and bagpipes?

Q) What's the difference between a trampoline and bagpipes?

A) You take off your shoes when you jump on a trampoline.