Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Re: Beginner Here...kudo to Gus

Now there is a fine idea... If Marc is gonna sell em, negotiate with that Cajun (they like negotiating anyhow, those I have come upon). The day comes that ya want a hand built, there's that opportunity to trade up a fair market price.

That's a dandy idea there Gus!

Nonc D

Re: Re: Re: Beginner Here...kudo to Gus

Believe me, I have been in his shop and I want every accordion I see. But, I want to make sure I can play it before spending the money on it.

Just wondering of that model is worth learning on, and if anyone has used one, does it sound cajun?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Beginner Here...kudo to Gus

I owned two of them before I stepped up to a hand built. Yes, you can learn to play on one, and if the bug bites you like it has most everyone else on this post, it will prove to be a great investment. If you can work a trade in deal with Mark, that's ideal. If not, they regularly sell on ebay for around $200. They have some of the Bestlers at Augusta for beginners to try, they're very similar to the Hohner. In the hands of John Vidrine, they sounded like a million bucks. Maybe the player has something to do with it, too!

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Beginner Here...kudo to Gus

The Musician has everything to do with it. Give a $200 Chinese box to the right guy, and he makes it sound a lot better than it's supposed to.
JB

I've got one I bought from Ken Smith's B&K music 22 years ago and it still plays great. I've never had to have it tuned and never done any repairs to the bellows or anything else. And it will sound Cajun as long as the player sounds Cajun. Most of the old timers I knew had at least one Hohner that they played.