Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Re: Accordion Help

I'm a rookie too, and I had the same problems on my Hohner when I got it. The two problems I had were some flappers werent sitting completely flat on the faceplate, and some of the springs didnt have enough tension. I just replaced springs and manipulated the flappers until they were flat. The spring tension showed up when I pushed on the bellows and looked at the flappers, a couple of them barely but noticebly opened just enough to allow a little air out.

It may not be the best way, but I found some leaks just by pushing the bellows with my face close to the flappers (kind of a bonding experience also), and some I ended up pulling the bellows open and putting fine talcum powder on suspected areas around the outside of the faceplate around the flappers and then pushing the bellows in. The leaks showed up by blowing a little talc. I was careful to wipe away the talc before pulling on the bellows again so it wouldnt get sucked in.

As Steve said, if you could post some particulars on your accordion, you may be able to get more specific help.

Re: Accordion Help

I'm a believer in not keeping it in its box. Keep it out of its box and handy, you'll find it a lot easier to get in a few minutes practice (or longer) if you don't have to get up, go to the box, open it, pick up the accordian, play it etc etc.

The problems you're seeing with the accordian are unliley to be due to not keeping it in its box.