Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
I want to play cajun music!

I want to learn to play cajun music and need to purchase a good starter accordian. Are the hohner models any good for for starting out? I don't want to buy a handmade accordian at this time.

Re: I want to play cajun music!

Welcome aboard. If you follow the website link #1 (above), it will direct you to an earlier thread compiled by Ken. He did a good job summarizing the board members' feelings about starting out on the accordion.

For my part, I'm also a recent beginner and I started on a Hohner. But, that said, I've already put down a deposit on a LA handmade--and am waiting impatiently for it to be done.

If I had to do it over again, I'd probably do the same thing. Of course, if I had a bit more money, I'd probably try to find a used LA handmade for my starter box.

Have fun.

JtO

Here's the FAQ I compiled a few weeks ago

Also, an update. Toby sold me his Hohner 114 and I've been working on D Powell's DVD... mostly spend my time doing octave chords and scaring the cats. Much fun!

FAQ:
On buying a new, inexpensive, beginner accordion made in Asia

It’s okay for a beginner…

Hal says:

[ariette] is a pretty decent little box for someone just wanting to start out. Now, nothing like a handmade of course, bellows are stiff, buttons sluggish as compared to a better quality, but for someone wanting to learn the basics and see if they would enjoy learning, it is a great box. Really does sound quite nice, although very wet tuned as compared to traditional cajun. I played mine about 6 months before my Bon Cajun arrived.

Martin says: