Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: I'm a Newbie to Cajun accordion - help please!

Congratulations on your accordion, Junior makes a fine instrument. We may have rubbed shoulders at his booth, I was there a lot. Check out the link to Augusta's Cajun- Creole week above as one touch point to Cajun music and players.

Hey Linda,
Welcome and congratulations on your new accordion purchase! You're going to have so much fun!!! There is an active group of dancers and musicians here in the SF Bay Area. There are Zydeco dances every Friday night in Alameda at the Eagle's Hall, there are Cajun or Zydeco dances every week usually on Tuesday or Wednesday nights at Ashkenaz in Berkeley. There are jam session in the Bay Area also. Check out the website sfbayou.com and follow the link to Bay Area Calendar to find all of the dances, house parties, Cajun/Zydeco events in the area.
If you are interested in lessons next week or the following week, Jeffery Broussard will be here with his band from Louisiana and he will be giving lessons. They'll be playing in Alameda on Friday, May 18th and I encourage you to go see them! You're welcome to borrow my accordion for the lessons since you won't have yours yet. Jeffery's an excellent accordion player and instructor. You can e-mail me to set up a time for lessons and for sure, you can count on lessons and workshops on Sunday, May 20th in Napa.
Saanen

Re: Re: I'm a Newbie to Cajun accordion - help please!

Saanen,

What a wonderful, generous thing you have offered me! Wow!

I'm really getting the feeling that people who are into this music scene are really great human beings.

I will email you for the details.

Thanks again, Saanen!
Linda

Linda

Check out this band's website. It also gives you info on a great