Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Re: Learning to crawl before you can learn to run

I can tell you, learning by ear is difficult. The first year I started playing, we were living in Baton Rouge and bear in mind that this was in 1992, not much cajun going on other than Mulates which was a 30 minute drive from where we lived. Once we moved back to Lafayette in 1993 it came much faster due to the simple fact that it was everywhere you turned around. I totally agree that being around it and listening and watching it almost religiously had a big impact on how I learned and the time it took me to learn it. The one thing I have seen time and again on the forum is to learn that song in your head backwards and forwards to where when you grab your box you know exactly what note you should be looking for. At least that's what I did and I still do to this day, I'll wear the cd out before I try to play it but I can now bring it from my ears to my fingers much easier beings that this is how I learned to play. My two cents of course, everyone is definitely different and has different abilities, it is however something that can consume you until you get it whipped !! Believe me, I recieved many *** chewings because I was still playing at 3am in the morning bound and determined to learn that certain turn or lead that I was trying to figure out !

maybe it should be called "playing by feel"

I'm starting to get the feeling that the TABS/EAR disucssion may replace, for a while, the MITER CORNER/BOX CORNER discussion. Yeeeeeeha!
First, to Mr. David Sousa, you are one of the people on this board who has consistantly offered solid, sound input to any and all. Altho we have never met, you have taught me loads, & I thank you for that!