Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: slight wetness...

Jim, enjoyed meeting you and your Dad at Augusta.

Larry Miller uses a "graduated" wet tuning, where the higher notes have less difference than the lower ones. I have a friend who has a Bb tuned this way and it sounds good.

Personally, I like "cajun wet" (not as much as musette) for songs which are slower and less ornamented, particularly waltzes. IMHO it's a fuller, more soulful sound, and full dry for punchy, fast tempo tunes. But as good as you play, it'll sound good regardless.

Take care, Chuck.

About fifteen years ago, Chris Miller demonstrated his wet accordions to me at a festival showing how he gets the wet sound and dry sound whenever he wants it. It wasn't until a couple of years ago when I started playing with Chris that I became sold on it.

In the past, the rule of thumb was 10 cents of wetness, and someone even mentioned Larry Miller's method of graduated wet which I believe starts at 10 at the top and goes down to 2 by the time you reach the bottom button.

I recently had both of my accordions wet tuned by Jude. As I recall, he told me it was either 5 or 7 cents wets. Chris told me this weekend that he had Jude do his as well. On my C, it is only slightly noticeable until you close the low bank, then it screams wet. My D is much more noticeable. The advantage is that I can get five or six unique sounds out of each box for a variety of things.

In response to your question, Jim, I think even a little wetness on an E would be very noticeable.

Ganey

Re: Re: slight wetness...