U.S. War Dogs Association Message Forum

The United States War Dogs Association welcomes you to this forum. Please NO advertisements.

U.S. War Dogs Association Message Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Looking For Stories from Vietnam, "stories on the airplane."

My name is Jill Nieglos. I worked as a flight attendant for Pan American for 17 years, including the Vietnam War era. I am currently writing a seven-part series of stories about my experiences as a Pan Am Flight Attendant during the Vietnam War for "Eyes and Ears," which is an online edition of something like "Stars and Stripes" but for the Australian Vietnam War Veteran's Association. I am on segment three now. I flew the R and R flights for Pan Am for over two years out of Nam and into Sydney. The Australian editor wants my viewpoint of the war from what he calls a "Hostie" viewpoint, or in our version of English, the stew's viewpoint. Writing this has been an emotion roller coaster for me. I have remembered all the good things I contributed to the fella's R & R's, but knowing many didn't make it home, I have cried a bucket of tears while writing this. I did not know I would be so profoundly effected forty four years after my experiences.