Welcome to old and new friends who are interested in discussing Cajun and other diatonic accordions, along with some occasional lagniappe....

CAJUN ACCORDION DISCUSSION GROUP

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: top this sleezy

Understandable since you put it that way. What steps did you take to write your own song as far as structure and lyrics?

I had no intention of writing a song ever. I was playing my accordion in the living room one Saturday afternoon. After playing some of the songs we play I started playing a tune, nothing fancy just using the keyboard and I came up with this tune. My wife ask me the name of it I told it wasn't a song that I was just messing around. She said "no honey that's a good tune and you need to write a song using it." She continued "it sounds like a chicken." I laughed and asked "a chicken? " She said yes so I started thinking what could I possible write about a chicken in French. Then I thought of Mardi Gras. There are a lot of songs about how Cajuns chase chickens, drink, dance and have a good time but no one had ever told the story from a chickens perspective. I started saying not writing anything down. "the chickens know it Mardi Gras, they are hiding in the chicken coup. The Mardi Gras passes through the country to pick up chickens to eat." First verse done. Then I thought about the second verse. I decided to record what I had come up with for the first verse so I wouldn't forget. The second verse was a little harder cause I wanted to include something about the men drinking and chasing. My wife said I needed to change it and just write about the chickens. So the second verse was created. "the chickens can hear the noise on the road they know the Cajuns aren't far. They want to make a gumbo tonight with a chicken from Nonc Edourd-Uncle Edward." Then I remembered something DL Menard said about writing songs it has to tell a story with a beginning, a middle and an end. So the third verse became